Callington and Gunnislake District Ladies Darts league

The League held its annual finals and presentation evening on Monday at Gunnislake Public Hall. Some excellent darts took place with the Secretaries and Captains Competition being played on the night.

After three rounds, the semi-finalists emerged as Stoke Climsland SC's Sandie Palmer, who faced Gunnislake SC A's Sheila Pearce, the latter winning 2-1. The other semi-final saw Union Inn's Claire Robins pitted against Callington CC's Denis Hughes, with Hughes taking the match. She went on to defeat Sheila Pearce 2-0 in the final to take the trophy.

The finals of the competitions followed; the Hill Trophy was won by Gunnislake SC B's Pam Southcott, Sue Cork, Tracey Evans and Tammy Tozer. They defeated the Bulls Head team of Sharon Rayner, Hazel Rowles, Brenda Whittick and Sandie Mallett 2-0.

The Keith May Trebles was also won by Gunnislake SC B. Here Pam Southcott, Tracey Evans and Marlene Deacon beat Stoke Climsland SC's Maureen Webber, Sylvia Powell and Bridie Craven 2-0.

The league Singles Champion is Gunnislake SC B's Tanya May. She beat Cornish Inn's Julie Dixey in straight legs to take the title she won in 1992. The Doubles title was taken by Gunnislake SC A's Margeret Stidwell and Sarah Statton. They were surprise winners over Gunnislake SC B's Trish and Monahan and Tanya May.

The Mixed Final was an exciting one with Gunnislake Sc B's Tanya May and John Pote just overcoming Callington SC's Jayne Morris and Roger Wright by the narrowest of margins. Scoring-wise, the highlight was a 180 max from John Pote. Other winners were:

League champions- Gunnislake SC B; League runners-up- Tavistock Hotel; K.O. Cup winners- Gunnislake SC B; K.O. Cup runners-up- Gunnislake SC A; Handicap league champions- Stoke Climsland SC; Handicap league runners-up- Union Inn; League cup winners- Tavistock Hotel; League cup runners-up- Gunnislake SC B; Most wins in league- T Monahan, Gunnislake SC B (17); Most tons in league- D Hughes, Callington CC (40); Highest shot out in league- P Freeman, Callington SC (118); 180's- D Hughes (Callington CC), Lorraine Chesworth (Tavistock Hotel), Phyl Freeman (Callington SC), Margeret Stidwell (Gunnislake SC A); Most team hundreds- Tavistock Hotel, 130; Best sporting team- tied between Stoke Climsland and Callington CC; Wooden Spoon- Cornish Inn.

The presentation of awards was made by league chairperson Phyl Freeman. She was assisted by league secretary Godfrey Smale. At the end of the presentation the league gave presents to the league secretary Godfrey Smale and his wife Winnie. They were made by Phyl Freeman.