Football: ECPL discusses promotion, relegation - and amalgamation

By Cornish Times in Football

The East Cornwall Premier League’s special general meeting at Bodmin last night had plenty of issues to discuss.

These included promotion and relegation, points deduction for non fulfilment of fixtures and a possible amalgamation of the ECPL and the Duchy League along with regionalising the league into East and West.

The issue of promotion and relegation was discussed at length. Vospers Oak Villa will take their place in the Premier Division having been relegated from the South West Peninsula League.

As there were only 15 teams in the top flight due to Edgcumbe pulling out after the fixtures for the 2016-17 season had been made it meant that bottom club St Teath would be relegated and replaced by Division One winners Plymouth Parkway.

Three clubs had given advance notice of possible withdrawal, Bude Town, St Stephens Borough and St Dominick. Bude and the Borough confirmed they would continue – the latter giving their reason as a possible name change. St Dominick have yet to confirm withdrawal as they continue their search for a new manager.

Bodmin Town had already given notice of withdrawal from the league, with the team’s management and players moving to Wadebridge Town, so they could not be promoted.

This meant that Division One as it stands will have 15 teams in the division after the league accepted new arrivals Newquay, Lakeside Athletic and Duchy League champions St Minver.

If St Dominick do decide to pull out of the league, then the decision on whether to relegate Liskeard Athletic, who finished second bottom, or promote Looe Town, who were third in Division One, will be voted on at the AGM on Thursday June 22.

A St Teath proposal to make the ECPL into a regional league – East and West - was widely discussed, although there was a word of caution as the Cornwall FA are said to be considering an amalgamation of the ECPL and the Duchy League in the East, and combining the Cornwall Combination League with the Trelawny League in the West.

As it stands the 2017-18 constitution which has to be approved at the AGM is:

Premier Division (16 teams): Bere Alston United, Callington Town, Launceston, Liskeard Athletic, Pensilva, Plymouth Parkway, Plymstock United, Polperro, Saltash United, St Austell, St Blazey, St Dominick, St Stephens Borough, Tavistock, Torpoint Athletic and Vospers Oak Villa.

Division One: (15 teams): Bude Town, Elburton Villa, Lakeside Athletic, Lanreath, Looe Town, Mevagissey, Millbrook, Morwenstow, Nanpean Rovers, Newquay, Padstow United, Roche, St Minver, St Teath, Wadebridge Town.

Add Comment

Add Your Comment

You don't need an account to leave a comment

By posting your comment you agree to our T & C